Brussels: What I did and why I got mixed feelings about it

Hey guys,

I used to think that there’s no such thing as high expectations for a trip,  but here’s the newsflash:  Brussels proved me wrong with a slap on the face! I thought a lot about what I would write in this article – I didn’t know wether to write it as a travel guide or if I should let you know my personal experience, because the truth was: I went to Belgium but I didn’t like it that much.

I went to Brussels to see a few friends and that was absolutely awesome, but the idea I had about the city changed as soon as I saw that dirty-looking city filled with rude people instead of a beautiful fairytale city.

The bad experience began when I arrived to the airport and the train to the city center – which is a really short distance – was expensive AF ! Then I thought that the most spoken language (including the direction signs) would be in english, or at least in french, but surprise: the speakers on the train were in dutch and there was no sign what so ever of anything being in english – Panic! I felt kind of unwelcome,  like they don’t like receiving tourists…

I know people have different backgrouds and we should be open to other cultures, I personally think I’m quite open-minded, but I think Brussels has such negative vibes! Instead of the cultural diversity and the beautiful streets I was expecting, I saw a dirty city, with “bad looking people” (they look quite rude and too into their own world) going around, taxi drivers who want to overcharge us, mediocre food… In the first time in my life, I didn’t like a city, which is a shame because Brussels for itself is beautiful! It has so much to offer! Beautiful architecture, lovely beer and nice things to visit…

Despite all those incidents, and the “shock” towards this city that destroyed my expectations, I managed to have fun and to visit a few things in this short weekend.

 

So here’s a list of what I did and advise you to do in Brussels

 

Grand Place

This is probably the more iconic square of Brussels. During the day, it is full of life! People are running around, there are a lot of terraces where you can sit drinking a coffee and relaxing, and it has beautiful buildings to look at. You can’t miss it!

 

 

Manneken Pis

This is literally a statue of a boy peeing into a fountain, which is weird but a landmark of the city so, you have to visit 🙂

IMG_20161015_140839

 

Beer taste at Delirium Café

Belgium is known for its marvelous beer and this caffe is quite popular for having a huge amount of beers – it has held the Guinness record for having the longest beer list ever, selling beers from all over the world. So it is the ultimate place for you to have a beer taste, or at list it deserves a visit for just one beer.

 

beer

 

Food:  Waffle, Chocolat and Fries

Well duh! When in Belgium, have a waffle! I had this amazing waffle in a little shop in the city center, which is filled with stores like that, and it is impossible to resist if you’re a sweet tooth like me! This country is well known for its wonderful chocolat as well, and let me tell you that this one really meets expectations. If you are looking for good quality chocolat, I advise you Godiva, the best artisanal chocolat shop. Fries are a typical belgium food as well, you can find it everywhere.

waffle.jpg

 

Atomium 

The atomium is quite recent and it is located bit far away from the city center, you can either see it from outside or take a visit inside (12€ per adult). I took the tour and really liked it, it is very interesting. As you walk through the tubes and spheres, there are a few exibhits about the fifties (When it was built) and when you get to the top, there’s a really nice panoramic view of the city.

 

 

Day trip to Brugge

This little city made my visit to Belgium super worthy… It looks like a village that you read about in a book, very fairytale like. It has beautiful buildings, charming streets and canals and amazing restaurants! It is just one hour away from Brussels and the ticket costs around 10eur – it’s a day very well spent!

IMG_4390

IMG_4391

2017-06-09-11_34_03-the-random-wanderer-the-random-wanderer-e280a2-fotos-e-vc3addeos-do-instagram.png

BRUGES

Despite all the incidents, I actually liked my trip to Belgium, not only because it allowed me to see my international friends again, but because it thought me everything can be enjoyed even if many things go wrong. Remember: It is essential to prepare your trip in advance, remain positive and see the bright side of everything 🙂

 

Lots of Love, 

Catarina

2 thoughts on “Brussels: What I did and why I got mixed feelings about it

  1. It poured cats and dogs when we were there so we spent a LOT of time indoors drinking beer and we must have missed some of the things you encountered! Recently we had a bad experience in Morocco and reading your posts makes feel comfortable talking about our own experience. Not every journey is amazing, it may seem that way in images, but truth be told what happened to you and us, happens all time but no one says it out loud! Thanks for putting this out there and we wish you a better journey if you go back!

    Like

Leave a Reply

